Q. If I am a certified officer from another state, do I have to attend the police academy?
A. If you are from another state, the answer is yes, although you have training in law enforcement you specifically need to be trained by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice standards. Only in state certified officers do not have to attend the academy.
Q. How long after the academy do I ride with a Field Training Officer?
A. Generally speaking you have to ride for a minimum of 90 days.
Q. Does the Franklin Police Department have a Tattoo policy?
A. The Franklin Police Department does have a tattoo policy. You can’t have any visible tattoo’s showing at any time during your shift, you will be required to wear a long sleeve shirt year round.
Q. Does the Franklin Police Department allow outside employment?
A. The Franklin Police Department does allow officers to work outside the department. Each request must be approved by the Chief of Police. You must adhere to the general order pertaining to the policy.
Q. Does the Franklin Police Department have tuition reimbursement for college?
A. Yes we do offer tuiton reimbursement.
Q. How long is the police academy?
A. The academy is seventeen weeks long.
Q. What are the hours of the academy?
A. The academy is located in Newport News, Virginia. It is from 0700-1500 hours, Monday thru Friday, there will some evening shifts throughout the academy for firing at the range.
Q. Does the City of Franklin Police Department offer college incentive pay?
A. Yes the City of Franklin does offer college incentive pay. Its based on the level of degree you aquire.